McIIory takes aim at The Northern Trust title

Image copyright: Getty Images

2020 The Northern Trust 

US PGA Tour 

TPC Boston
Norton, Massachusetts, USA 
20-23 August 2020
Rory McIlroy has set his sights on winning his maiden The Northern Trust title at the TPC Boston this week (20-23 August).
The Northern Irish superstar is a four-time major champion having won the 2011 U.S Open, 2012 PGA Championship, 2014 Open Championship, and 2014 PGA Championship.
Along with Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods, McIlory is one of three players to win four majors by the age of 25.
The 31-year-old has tasted success twice at the TPC Boston having won the Deutsche Bank Championship (Dell Technologies Championship) in 2012 and 2016 at the same venue.
Tiger Woods in action.
 Image copyright: Getty Images

McIlroy participated in last year's The Northern Trust and he finished fifth and he will be hoping to clinch his maiden trophy this week. 
Reigning FedExCup champion McIlroy will make his ninth start at TPC Boston where he has three top-10 finishes.
This includes two victories (2012, 2016) with his most recent happening on the way to his first FedExCup title. 
The Belfast-born golfer has played in The Northern Trust seven times with his best finish (T6) in 2019 at Liberty National Golf Club.
Bryson DeChambeau in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

McIlroy has reflected on his career ahead of The Northern Trust having won his last golf major (US Open) in 2014. 
"I feel like the golf that I've played in the majors has been sort of similar to the golf I've played outside of them," McIlroy said. 
"And I've won some big events and played well and had a good season last season.
"Some days I play better than others. I've just got to keep going and keep persisting and see if I can do better the next time."
“He’s been one of the most dominant players on the PGA TOUR in the last 10 years. He’s a world-class player and an even better person.”
The 2020 The Northern Trust offers a $9.5 million purse with a winner's share of $1.71 million.

Last five The Northern Trust winners

2015 - Jason Day - Australia 
2016 - Patrick Reed - USA
2017 - Dustin Johnson - USA 
2018 - Bryson DeChambeau - USA
2019 - Patrick Reed - USA

Bet on golf with Betway online sports betting

Betway online sports betting offers the most competitive odds on your favourite golf tournaments, including The Masters, Travelers Championship, The US Open, PGA Championship and Open Championship.

Bet on golf with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 08/19/2020