Stage set for 2022 Tour Championship

Image copyright: Getty Images


2022 Tour Championship 

US PGA Tour 

East Lake Golf Club
Atlanta, Georgia, USA  
25-28 August 2022 
The 2022 Tour Championship is scheduled to take place at the East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Georgia, the USA  between 25 and 28 August. 
The event was established in 1987 and since 2019, the tournament winner has been directly awarded the FedEx Cup and a 5-year PGA Tour exemption.
It is the final event of the three-tournament FedEx Cup Playoffs and it is also the last tournament on the 2021-22 PGA Tour schedule.
This year's field is set with the conclusion of the 2022 BMW Championship, which determined the 30 players who qualify for the second leg of the FedEx Cup playoffs.

Sam Burns
Image copyright: Getty Images
The current champion is Patrick Cantlay having won the 2021 Tour championship as he ended the 2020-21 PGA Tour season with a victory.
This year's field will be headlined by world-renowned players such as Cantlay, Brooks Koepka, Will Zalatoris, Scottie Scheffler, Tony Finau, Sam Burns and Rory McIlroy.
Furthermore, four players -- Scott Stallings, Adam Scott, KH Lee and Aaron Wise -- played their way into the top 30 at the Tour Championship.
The field will be playing for a whopping $75 million purse, and 27 of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking are among the top contenders.

The PGA Tour recently announced that Alex Urban has been named Executive Director of the Tour Championship and replaces Allison Fillmore,
“My time in Maui will always be a cherished chapter of my career, but this is a dream scenario for me to lead the finale of the FedExCup Playoffs in an area of the country that is so familiar to me,” Urban said
“Having attended the TOUR Championship on several occasions as a member of the PGA TOUR’s communications department, I have a great deal of appreciation for the tournament, East Lake Golf Club, its storied history and the impact the event continues to make throughout the city of Atlanta.
"I look forward to becoming a part of the Atlanta community and building on the growth and momentum Allison and her team experienced during her time as executive director.”
Tiger Woods is the most decorated golfer in the history of the Tour Championship having won the tournament three times.

Last five Tour Championship winners

2017 - Xander Schauffele - USA 
2018 - Tiger Woods - USA 
2019 - Rory McIlroy - Northern Ireland 
2020 - Dustin Johnson - USA 
2021 - Patrick Cantlay - USA  

Bet on golf with Betway online sports betting

Betway online sports betting offers the most competitive odds on your favourite golf tournaments, including The Masters, Travelers Championship, The US Open, PGA Championship and Open Championship.

Bet on golf with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App.


Published: 08/26/2022