Cricket World Cup 2019: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh & Afghanistan with nothing to lose

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

England and Wales
30 May – 14 July

The trio of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan will have nothing to lose at the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup, which will be held from 30 May to 14 July in England and Wales.

Sri Lanka famously won the 1996 World Cup in one of the biggest surprises in the tournament’s history, and they have been relatively strong performers ever since: semifinalists in 2003, runners-up in both 2007 and 2011, and quarterfinalists at the last edition in 2015.

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Motaza.

The Asian side has struggled to find consistent form in recent years and come into the tournament as one of the outsiders, yet they still boast one of the ODI game’s best death bowlers in Lasith Malinga.

Bangladesh got as far as the quarterfinals of the 2015 World Cup and have made a habit of claiming at least one surprise win in a tournament (their first opponents, South Africa, will need to be wary of this at the Oval on 2 June).

Afghanistan captain Gulbadin Naib.

Finally, Afghanistan (whose opening game is against defending champions Australia in Bristol on 1 June) are the rank outsiders but still considered a dangerous prospect.

They won the 2018 Cricket World Cup qualifier tournament in Zimbabwe, where they recovered from an underwhelming first group stage to eventually defeat the West Indies in the final – showing that they can punch well above their weight when inspiration strikes.
With the latest betting odds and the most up-to-date markets, cricket betting has never been so easy. So join Betway now & place your Cricket World Cup Bet with up to NGN 20,000 in Free Bets 

Bet on the Cricket World Cup 2019 with Betway

Cricket World Cup Statistics

First held: 1975
Previous tournaments: 11
Most titles: Australia, 5
Most runs, player: Sachin Tendulkar (India), 2278
Most wickets, player: Glenn McGrath (Australia), 71

You might also like: 5 cricket records that might never be broken​

Cricket World Cup previous winners

1975 – West Indies
1979 – West Indies
1983 – India
1987 – Australia
1992 – Pakistan
1996 – Sri Lanka
1999 – Australia
2003 – Australia
2007 – Australia
2011 – India
2015 – Australia 

Bet on cricket with Betway

Be part of the game as we bring you the best in online cricket betting. Backing your favourite teams is one click away, so get in on the action and place your cricket bet now. 

Bet on cricket with Betway

If you are new to Betway, click HERE to register an account now and start betting on sports. On your first deposit, we'll give you a 50% up to NGN 20, 000 awarded as a Free Bet. To unlock your bonus, simply make your first deposit and place bets on Sports or Jackpots equivalent to 3x the value of your first deposit amount on odds of 3.0 or higher.  

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 05/29/2019