Mickelson eyes third American Express title

Image copyright: Getty Images


2022 The American Express 

US PGA Tour 

PGA West Private Clubhouse & Golf Courses

La Quinta, California, USA 
20-23 January 2022
Phil Mickelson will be returning to PGA West Private Clubhouse & Golf Courses where he has enjoyed some success in the past. 
The American superstar has won The American Express twice in 2002 and 2004 when the competition was still known as the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic.
Mickelson outclassed David Berganio, Jr in a sudden death playoff to clinch his first title in La Quinta in 2002. 

Jon Rahm
Image copyright: Getty Images
The San Diego-born golfer then birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Skip Kendall in 2004 and he won the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic for the second time.
Mickelson, who is nicknamed Lefty, is considered among the best golfers of his generation having won 45 events on the PGA Tour.
This includes six major championships: three Masters titles, two PGA Championships, and one Open Championship.
With his win at the 2021 PGA Championship, Mickelson became the oldest major championship winner in history at the age of 50 years, 11 months and seven days old.
"It's a beautiful place and every hole has such scenery, and so forth, but it is a hard golf course to walk," Mickelson said following a 2-under 71 at last week's Sentry Tournament of Champions.
"I'm hurting. It's vertical. It's hard. It's not easy. And that was the biggest challenge because I was winded going up and down those hills. But I drove the ball well today. I didn't score very well the first 14 holes. I was sloppy, 
"But I made four good putts the last four holes to finish at 2 under – not do too much damage – and I feel like my game as well as I'm driving the ball, get my iron play sharp, I feel like I've got some low rounds in me."
Arnold Palmer is the most decorated player in the history of The American Express having won it five times. 

Last five The American Express winners

2015 - Hudson Swafford - USA 
2018 - Jon Rahm - Spain
2019 - Adam Long - USA 
2020 - Andrew Landry - USA 
2021 - Kim Si-woo - South Korea

Bet on golf with Betway online sports betting

Betway online sports betting offers the most competitive odds on your favourite golf tournaments, including The Masters, Travelers Championship, The US Open, PGA Championship and Open Championship.

Bet on golf with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App


Published: 01/18/2022