Simpson looks to emulate icons at Players Championship

Image copyright: Getty Images


2022 The Players Championship

US PGA Tour 

TPC Sawgrass
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA 
11-13 March 2022
Webb Simpson will be eager to emulate golf icons by winning the 2022 Players Championship in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA.
The American star won this tournament in 2018 as he claimed his fifth PGA Tour victory by four shots after a 1-over 73 final round.
Simpson is now keen to win the event for the second time and emulate Tiger Woods, Fred Couples, Steve Elkington, Hal Sutton, and Davis Love III, who currently have two titles. 

Abraham Ancer
Image copyright: Getty Images
The 2020 Vardon Trophy winner had his first two wins on the PGA Tour, which came at the Wyndham Championship and Deutsche Bank Championship in 2011.
These victories helped him finish in second on the Tour's money list and he has since won seven PGA Tour tournaments including the 2012 US Open.
After winning the 2018 Players Championship, Simpson moved to number 20 in the Official World Golf Rankings and took home a whopping $1.98 million.
The last time the North Carolina-born star won a PGA Tour tournament was in 2020 as he clinched the RBC Heritage by one stroke over Abraham Ancer.

David Love
Image copyright: Getty Images
"2021 was a frustrating year for me," Simpson said as he looks to return to winning ways in 2022.
"Battling flu, COVID, neck injury, and I feel like that crept into my golf game. It was a letdown year, I guess, this past year.
"And I realize, you know, I have a lot of sympathy for guys who have gone through injury because I had never gone through it and it really messes with you for a while," he added. 
"It hinders your workouts and it hinders your practice. I feel like my game is in a good spot. and I fully believe my best golf is ahead of me."
Jack Nicklaus is the most successful golfer in the history of The Players Championship having won the tournament a record three times.  

Last five The Players Championship winners

2016 - Jason Day - Australia 
2017 - Kim Si-woo - South Korea 
2018 - Webb Simpson - USA 
2019 - Rory McIlroy - Northern Ireland  
2021 - Justin Thomas - USA 

Bet on golf with Betway online sports betting

Betway online sports betting offers the most competitive odds on your favourite golf tournaments, including The Masters, Travelers Championship, The US Open, PGA Championship and Open Championship.

Bet on golf with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 03/09/2022