Max Verstappen returns to the scene of his first F1 victory

2019 Formula1 World Championship

Round 5, Spanish Grand Prix

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

12 May 2019

Max Verstappen will return to the scene of his first Formula 1 victory when the 2019 season hosts Round 5 at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Sunday 12 May.

The Dutchman famously won the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix, taking advantage of a crash between Mercedes teammates Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg to dominate the race. The victory not only made Verstappen the youngest-ever F1 race winner (he was just 18 at the time), he was also the first Dutch driver to win in F1 and it arrived on his debut for Red Bull.

Red Bull Racing driver Pierre Gasly

The 21-year-old has enjoyed a consistent season to date, opening with a third-place finish in Australia and following it up with three consecutive fourths at Bahrain, China and Azerbaijan. This leaves him fourth in the Drivers’ Championship standings, just one point off third-placed Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari.

Beating the all-conquering Mercedes seems beyond the reach of Verstappen (and especially his teammate Pierre Gasly, who has struggled to adapt in his first season with Red Bull) but he’s doing a great job in challenging Vettel to be the ‘best of the rest’ behind the ‘Silver Arrows’.

Max Verstappen returns to the scene of his first F1 victory

Verstappen will look to continue challenging the Ferraris for podium finishes and aim to keep up the consistency which suggests he is maturing into a fine racing driver.

You might also like: The greatest Formula One drivers of all time

2019 F1 Drivers’ Championship – Top three


1 – Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) – 87

2 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 86

3 – Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) – 52


2019 F1 Constructors’ Championship – Top three

1 – Mercedes – 173

2 – Ferrari – 99

3 – Red Bull Racing-Honda – 64

With the latest odds on a wide range of markets throughout the season, betting on Formula 1 with Betway has never been this easy! Join today and claim your welcome offer!

Bet on Formula One with Betway


Spanish Grand Prix – Last five winners


2018 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2017 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2016 – Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2015 – Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2014 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)


Spanish Grand Prix – Stats


Number of times held: 59 – first in 1913

Most wins, driver: Michael Schumacher, 6

Most wins, constructor: Ferrari, 12

Circuit length: 4.655km

Race length: 307.104km

Laps: 66

Race lap record: 1:18.441, Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull, 2018)

Shift it up to top gear with 5 Reel Drive Online Slot

Play 5 Reel Drive Slot Machine at Betway Casino

Are you crazy about cars? Than 5 Reel Drive Slot Machine is perfect for you! Here you have everything related to the 50's and 60's. Everything from poodle skirts and slick hair to diners with homemade pie. Nostalgic feelings are at their peak when we start the engines on the slot machine. Try 5 Reel Drive Online Slot for free or play for real money!

Betway Casino

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 05/09/2019