In-form Lee looks to emulate Yang at PGA

Image copyright: Getty Images


2022 PGA Championship 

US PGA Tour 

Southern Hills Country Club
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA 
‪19 - 22 May 2022 
K.H Lee will be looking to emulate his compatriot Y.E Yang by winning the 2022 PGA Championship when he tees off at the Southern Hills Country Club.
Yang remains the only South Korean and Asian golfer to win this tournament in 2009 when he overcame a two-shot deficit going into the final round to finish three strokes ahead of Tiger Woods, his playing partner. 
The victory was the first major championship for a male player born in Asia, surpassing the runners-up finishes achieved by Lu Liang-Huan, Isao Aoki and Chen Tze-chung.

Sam Burns
Image copyright: Getty Images
Lee played in his first PGA Championship in 2021 on the heels of his maiden PGA Tour title – the AT&T Byron Nelson with a score of 25-under-par, beating runner-up Sam Burns by three strokes.
The 30-year-old successfully defended the AT&T Byron Nelson this year after his 9-under 63 in the final round moved him five spots up the leaderboard on May 15.
Lee's eagle put him in front for good Sunday on the way to a 9-under 63 and a one-shot victory over Jordan Spieth at birdie-besieged TPC Craig Ranch as he clinched his second title on the PGA Tour.
The in-form golfer became the last man in the field at last year’s PGA Championship and missed the cut, but he has said he’s hoping for a better result this time around.

Jordan Spieth
Image copyright: Getty Images
“Just keep momentum well for next week's PGA Championship," Lee said ahead of this year's tournament. 
"Last year, I missed the cut at the PGA Championship. So, my first goal next week is to play well, hopefully make the cut and play well.
“And then also keep momentum and try to play well and hopefully this season will be better than last year.”
American legend Walter Hagen won the PGA Championship a record five times (all in match play), while his compatriot Jack Nicklaus won a record five titles in the stroke-play era.

Last five PGA Championship winners

2017 - Justin Thomas - USA 
2018 - Brooks Koepka - USA 
2019 - Brooks Koepka - USA 
2020 - Collin Morikawa - USA 
2021 - Phil Mickelson - USA 

Bet on golf with Betway online sports betting

Betway online sports betting offers the most competitive odds on your favourite golf tournaments, including The Masters, Travelers Championship, The US Open, PGA Championship and Open Championship.

Bet on golf with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App.


Published: 05/18/2022